Bladerunner: Top 5 Classic Jungle Tracks

1. DJ SS – THE LIGHTER – FORMATION RECORDS

This was the first jungle record I ever owned, After listening to it on Helter Skelter  and ‘Dreamscape’ tapes with friends at school for months, I finally found a copy! I’ve always loved how a totally different style of music like classical can blend so well with jungle.

2. DREAM TEAM – STAMINA – SUBURBAN BASS

This was the tune that got me into crazy amen edits and pure driven sub bass; which still play such a big part in my production now. This track has all the elements that I love about jungle and a wicked ragga vocal hook!

3. RENEGADE – TERRORIST – MOVING SHADOW

A classic track that always stays in my selection in its various incarnations over the years, It’s the original blueprint for drum and bass for me. The first tune to use amens and reese bass rolling straight with no ragga vocals, that inspired a whole new generation of d’n’b .

4. DJ SS – ROLLIDGE – FORMATION RECORDS

This track is another one of my favorites from an early Grooverider Dreamscape tape. It took me quite a while to find out the title of this track back in the day, as I didn’t want to go in the record shop and start singing the backwards vocals trying to explain how the tune went! Eventually I discovered a friend had a copy, so I did a big trade for this one. I was so pleased when I found it at last. I just love how all the breaks roll and phase into each other, and the second drop with the big kettle drum build up.  This used to go off in The Sanctuary!

5. DJ RAP – SPIRITUAL AURA – PROPER TALENT

This was the first track that really showed me how strings and pads can create such beautiful chords and atmospheres that make your hair stand on end. It has inspired so many of my tracks including ‘Feel for You.’ I have even had the privilege of remixing it too. It was a good day when I bought this track, as I came out of the shop with the Krome & Time Licence remix, and DJ SS Rollers Convention Pt.1!

Bladerunner features on the latest Sub Slayers compilation that’s OUT NOW!

SLAYERCD07-Series-04-Bass-785

Buy Slayers Store / BeatportiTunes / Juno Download / Spotify + All Good Stores

Leave a Reply

